Pond Filter Media Matala Sheets Matala Sheets

Username:
Password:
- Create Account
            Forgot Password

Matala Sheets

Overall Rating:
The Green Matala can follow thereby trapping a medium size particle. Both Green and Black clean out very easily by simply shaking the pieces out before draining the sump. When you use the Black or Green Matala® for solids filtering you may use the garden hose to spray clean them. The dirt falls off very easily.

A good biofilter needs a lot of surface area with open spaces between for good aerated water flow. A high surface area is useless if the passageways are so small that water flow cannot penetrate.

The various densities can be used in sequence or separately for unique filtration requirements. This is one of the greatest characteristics which Matala has to offer. No other media on the market can perform this step-wise filtration. Matala effectively separates large particles to small and still maintains a very aerobic and free flow of water without channeling.

Full sheets measure 48" x 39" x 1.5"
Half sheets measure 24" x 39" x 1.5" and are UPS/FedEx shippable
Matala Sheets


Product Reviews

Overall Rating:

Susan Peterson (Hobbyist) on Tuesday 10 May, 2011
Product Rating:
Review:
I took out the pads that came with my bio falls and skimmer and replaced them with the blue matala pads. Far better filtration and much easier to clean. Best pads on the market imo.

Lucy Chin (Hobbyist) on Wednesday 23 March, 2011
Product Rating:
Review:
I used two sheets in my skimmer. It has worked well but I wish i choose the blue instead of the gray. The gray clogs very easily when you put it in a skimmer.

Yan-You-Len Pond Service (Installer/Dealer) on Wednesday 08 December, 2010
Product Rating:
Review:
What a difference this product has made in the cleaning time it takes. Needed a 3000psi washer to clean other medias. Changed all my clients to matala. I am using in salt and fresh water aquariums as well. Every one is very pleased. Have used this material to convert pressure cartrige filters to bio filters and operated all season with 1 cleaning in the fall...I use very little americo pads or any thing like that any more as they were too difficult to clean. When I asked a local supplier why he was not promoting the product he said there was no money in it I questioned him. he said he could only sell it once as it practically lasts forever????

Frank Stephen (Retail Dealer) on Monday 29 November, 2010
Product Rating:
Review:
One of the most popular and effective filter pads in the market. Will last many years and give you excellent filtration, both mechanical and biological. The 4 stage system is the best method of application, however the blue and the green can be used by themselves in an effective 2 stage system and for single pad application the blue is best. I sell 5x more blue then any other pad. These pads and be rinsed and hosed out many many times without significant wear. Easy to cut into any shape and almost never clog when used in the 4 stage set up.

_______________________
Disclaimer: I own and operate my my own retail store front. I am not an advertiser on this site. I sell most of the items I am reviewing, however I have left my business name out of the reviews.

Jacqueline (Hobbyist) on Wednesday 24 November, 2010
Product Rating:
Review:
these are great filter pads. I gave 4 instead of 5 stars because of how expensive they are, around $35 for one half of a sheet. But they work very well and don't fall apart. You get what you pay for I guess.

Steve Hill (Hobbyist) on Tuesday 02 November, 2010
Product Rating:
Review:
I use this in my skimmer. I replaced my old pad that came with the skimmer and fell apart after a year. That was two years ago and the matala pads are still in great shape even though i hose them out 3 or 4 times a month.

Alex Ramirez (Installer) on Wednesday 27 October, 2010
Product Rating:
Review:
without a doubt my favorite mechanical filter system on the market. Use the media in stages and you will have no solid waste coming through the final gray sheets. Then the water is ready for any sort of bio media. The matala will give you bio surface area as well in the later stages, but its so easy to hose the media out, which will kill all your good media, that I don't rely on it for bio. Great in skimmers, prefilters and waterfalls. You don;t have to use as mechanical filter either, you can also use as bio media as surface area is great on the high density media.

Pamela Brewer (Hobbyist) on Tuesday 19 October, 2010
Product Rating:
Review:
excellent media. long lasting and durable, never clogs, traps lots of debris and gives great surface area. You really can't go wrong with the matala pads.

Sara (Hobbyist) on Wednesday 13 October, 2010
Product Rating:
Review:
I mostly use the round coils, but I have used the sheets as well. The matala is the best pad style media out there. Catches everything, never clogs and is really easy to clean. You can also cut it to any shape you need very easily.

Terence Imai (Hobbyist) on Friday 13 August, 2010
Product Rating:
Review:
I have a settling pond that grabs most of the material and a gravel filter. I was having to clean the gravel on a weekly basis this year because the medium couldn't keep up with the fish and pond material. I put the black Matala sheets vertially in my settling pond along with a few black Matala sheets ontop of my gravel. No weekly cleaning because I have significantly increased my filter surface area. Thinking about remvoving the gravel next year and switching to the Matala filter medium. Great product!!!

Britt Dwyer (Hobbyist) on Sunday 21 March, 2010
Product Rating:
Review:
I use both the blue and green Matala sheets as part of my pre-filter setup and I have been very happy with the results. This media never seems to clog.......I only clean it once a year and the water flow is not effected and never slows down. This almost seems impossible, but the Matala pads are THAT good. Plenty of surface area for the good guy bacteria and rinsing the pads is very simple and fast. Easy to work with as well......all you need is a sharp knife to cut it to any size you desire. Highly recommended.

Jim Bell (Hobbyist) on Monday 25 May, 2009
Product Rating:
Review:
This filter media is well worth the investment. Checkout eBay for some good prices.

Very pleased with the results. Old PondMaster media would have to be cleaned nearly everyday. So far 2 days and still working great and no clogging.

Greg Heyman (Hobbyist) on Tuesday 25 November, 2008
Product Rating:
Review:
Better than replacing the typical filter pads every couple of weeks. In the long run much cheaper. This stuff is easy to use, easy to clean and holds up really well. I have it floating on the top of my vortex and it works great. Cacthes all the finer items in teh water. Will never go back to the standard filter pads.

Brian Secosky (Hobbyist) on Monday 27 October, 2008
Product Rating:
Review:
I have a filter that uses three different densities of Matala and I would have to say it is the best mat type media I have come across. One of its best qualities is its super durability. I have had regular foam mats that shrunk and fell apart but the Matala mats are holding up great for 2 years now. It is also very easy to clean, just pick up and shake. I would highly recommend this product.

Joe Hatfield Jr (Hobbyist) on Thursday 28 August, 2008
Product Rating:
Review:
Easy to shape, easy to use. The various thickness and density grades makes mechanical filtration quite easy. If we could only figure out the best and easiest way to clean it.

jackson chen (Hobbyist) on Tuesday 26 August, 2008
Product Rating:
Review:
I have two type of those sheets, one is black another one is blue,
They work great, which is my bio filter.
I have some japan mat, may change the blue mat to japan mat and see what is happen.

Jonathan (Hobbyist) on Wednesday 20 August, 2008
Product Rating:
Review:
Its very east to clean. and easy to use. Good product, I plan on adding more soon. Traps the waste easily then just spry if off, put it back and your set till next cleaning !

The Fish Lady on Tuesday 19 August, 2008
Product Rating:
Review:
Probably the easiest filter media to work with, easy to cut into any shape, last for a very long time, easy to clean and saves you allot of time in doing so.
I have replaced gravel in old classic Adachi style filters - down flow in pond gravel bio filters - with Matala and the results are excellent. If you do not want to look at the top layer, simply cover with 1 inch or so of gravel and voila.
The Fish Lady

Ned (Retail Dealer) on Sunday 10 August, 2008
Product Rating:
Review:
I really like this media. Far better then any sponge media. Easy to cut into any shape and lasts for years and years. I found it is best when you use all 4 densities in order to get both mechanical and biological filtration. It catches a lot of muck, its easy to clean, never clogs and gives you tons of surface area for bacteria.

You can add a direct link to this review on your website by copying and pasting the the code to the right.
(A sample of what the link will look like is below: )

Read the Consumer Reviews about:
Matala Sheets
On PondProductReviews.com






Banner Ads

Sponsored Links
JoesKoi.com
Pond Supply Bargain Superstore
Great prices. Free shipping.

JoesKoi.com
PondPumpSale.com
Pond pumps at discount prices.
Free shipping on most pumps.

pondpumpsale.com

Sponsor Links