Pond Filter Media Kaldnes Moving Bed Kaldnes Moving Bed K1

Username:
Password:
- Create Account
            Forgot Password

Kaldnes Moving Bed K1

Overall Rating:
Developed by Professor Halvard Odergard at Trondheim University of Science and Technology the Kaldnes Moving Bed™ bio film process has been designed specifically to create the most effective environment for the nitrification process to take place. The media is engineered in a wheel shape and is slightly positively buoyant, allowing a small amount of water flow (created by adding air to the process) to circulate the media throughout the vessel. Kaldnes Moving Bed K1


Product Reviews

Overall Rating:

Frank Stephen (Retail Dealer) on Monday 29 November, 2010
Product Rating:
Review:
This is, hands down, the best loose media in the industry. I recommend it 100% of the time to my customers building their own filter and it is the only bio media of its type that I stock. It will give you superior bacteria growth per sq ft when compared to any other media. Great for a DIY filter and also perfect for just adding a bit more media to an existing system. Comparable in cost to other similar media on the market as well, so no reason to use anything else.

_______________________
Disclaimer: I own and operate my my own retail store front. I am not an advertiser on this site. I sell most of the items I am reviewing, however I have left my business name out of the reviews.

Poncho (Hobbyist) on Wednesday 17 November, 2010
Product Rating:
Review:
I switched from the Laguna biospheres to the K1 and man what a difference. I think I doubled my surface area in the same size container. Its more expensive but it really makes a big difference.

Grant Edwards (Hobbyist) on Tuesday 19 October, 2010
Product Rating:
Review:
I used this in a 55 gallon barrel with several air stone at the bottom. The media would roll in the air bubbles and it made an excellent filter. I highly suggest this method for the media as it is highly effective.

William Bettering (Hobbyist) on Wednesday 13 October, 2010
Product Rating:
Review:
This is the best stuff anywhere for a open flow through filter. Very easy to clean, tons of bacteria, never clogs. There is the ideal media for a koi pond. I found it works the best if you put it loose in a basin or tub and run air through it so it boils and rolls. basically the same thing they do with the nexus filters.

Steve (Hobbyist) on Monday 12 January, 2009
Product Rating:
Review:
Great stuff, takes a few months to get really sticky and good at holding the solids that come in. Once the media has fully matured its great stuff and does a good job of controlling any excess that might come past the skimmer or leaf basket. Just make sure that when cleaning the tank to cover the outlet so that the K1 doesn't escape.

Rod (Hobbyist) on Wednesday 03 December, 2008
Product Rating:
Review:
I use this both in my static filter and my moving bed filter all DIY barrel designs. It works great. Take a few weeks before the Kaldness really gets to boiling. Whether moving or static cleaning is very easy. I don't have to even get my hand dirty.

jackson chen (Hobbyist) on Tuesday 26 August, 2008
Product Rating:
Review:
I have this DIY Kaldnes on my main pond, after one year of running, I do not see any depostive on the bottle.
good product, self cleaning

Willy H (Hobbyist) on Wednesday 20 August, 2008
Product Rating:
Review:
This is the only media I would recommend. I use it in my pond filters, QT and hospital tank filters.

The Fish Lady on Tuesday 19 August, 2008
Product Rating:
Review:
Having an overcrowded pond, I had to add additional filtration and was looking for a media that would finish my water & give me more bio support. I filled a 30" sand filter w/over 4 cu ft of K1. 75% of my water flows through it and OMG...what an amzaing difference it made. In my over 28 yrs of having Koi, I have never experienced such perfect crystal water. It is worth the price and if you do use in a closed system such as a sand filter, place a landry bag on your backwash outlet to catch K1 that might flush out.
The Fish Lady

cindy on Monday 18 August, 2008
Product Rating:
Review:
Fantastic media! A bit expensive, but it will last forever so it is a one-time investment. This media is perfect for aerated kaldnes filters and also static filters.

Pond Digs (Installer/Dealer) on Sunday 17 August, 2008
Product Rating:
Review:
Excellent media! If your a DIY type of ponder and want to make a fuildized bed filter this the media to use. Has a lot more surface area then some of the other floating medias out there.

You can add a direct link to this review on your website by copying and pasting the the code to the right.
(A sample of what the link will look like is below: )

Read the Consumer Reviews about:
Kaldnes Moving Bed K1
On PondProductReviews.com




More Kaldnes Moving Bed

Kaldnes Moving Bed K3
Kaldnes Moving Bed K3
(3) Reviews


Banner Ads

Sponsored Links
PondPumpSale.com
Pond pumps at discount prices.
Free shipping on most pumps.

pondpumpsale.com
JoesKoi.com
Pond Supply Bargain Superstore
Great prices. Free shipping.

JoesKoi.com

Sponsor Links