Pond Filters Bead & Sand Filters Ultima II

Username:
Password:
- Create Account
            Forgot Password

Ultima II

Overall Rating:

Ultima II Filters With Cyclonic Backwash

This is the next generation of filters and the best tool for Koi ponds. The Ultima II is specifically engineered to meet the environmental demands of fish ponds. The lightweight media is designed for very high flow rates.

The tubular bio-media has low head loss and a very high biofilm surface. The "Y" shape on the inside and wings on the outside afford a protective surface under backwashing, and with the patented backwash system will keep the media from clogging. The same properties have been added to this media in three different sizes with random lengths and diameters to avoid stacking.

The Ultima II tubular bio-media offers the highest surface area for growth of beneficial bacteria. No other backwashable pressurized filter compares. Cleaning the filter is done by internal jets. The Ultima II is also the ideal filter for aquariums where very high flow rates are desired.

Media will not "clump" together like common bead filters
Minutes to Backwash
Very Heavy Flow Rate
Heavy Fish Loads
Seeded with Natural Bacteria
Compact Filter can be Buried
Blower Not Needed for Backwashing
Unique tubular design protects beneficial bacteria while dislodging unwanted debris
Mechanical and Biological
No Channeling

Ultima II


Product Reviews

Overall Rating:

Will Jackson (Hobbyist) on Tuesday 10 March, 2015
Product Rating:
Review:
The most solid and reliable filter for the money available on the market...period.

Lynnette Lynn (Hobbyist) on Sunday 26 February, 2012
Product Rating:
Review:
I purchased the Ultima 2 6,000 filter with a sequence pump about a month ago. I have struggled before with keeping my pond water clear after about eight years of water changes too frequent and buying new filter sponges I finally decided to go with the ultima 2 filter. Im glad I made this decision! The Ultima 2 is different from other BEAD filters because it will NOT clump up like they do. It has special bio media that is created in a very special style to prevent clumping and its wonderful! It is pre seeded and you NEVER need to replace the media . The cleaning process is as simple as turing the handle to BACKWASH and RINSE. This sure beats the old sponges I was cleaning out on the lawn for eight years!! Believe me you wont regret this purchase. You will have clean clear water in no time at all!! Its a easy system to maintain and it saves you a lot of headache!! Your fish will thank you also. I know its a expensive purchase but honestly it is worth every penny!! I highly recomend it

Frank Stephen (Retail Dealer) on Tuesday 30 November, 2010
Product Rating:
Review:
These are the most popular pressurized bead type filters in the pond industry. Mostly because of the solid construction and low price. They are very well made and I have seen these filters put through serious abuse over the years and still have trouble free operation. The only flaw is they don't backwash very well and a couple times a year you need to open them up and stir the media as muck and sludge will build up and cake along the bottom. After you stir it you need to give it a VERY long backwash.

______________________
Disclaimer: I own and operate my my own retail store front. I am not an advertiser on this site. I sell most of the items I am reviewing, however I have left my business name out of the reviews.

Jacqueline (Hobbyist) on Wednesday 24 November, 2010
Product Rating:
Review:
I upgraded to this filter a couple years ago and I still really like it. I have the 4000 unit that filters all the water from my bottom drain. I opened it up last spring and even after two years it was not clogged or full of sludge like I thought it would be. The media was still in good shape too.

Ned Mooslin (Installer) on Wednesday 08 September, 2010
Product Rating:
Review:
This is my "go to" filter for most of my upgrade and installation projects. There are better filters out there, but they also cost a lot more. For the money this is a great filter. They use a Hayward valve that will last for decades, good surface area on the media and solid construction and design. I do recommend installing a blower on the larger units, 4000 and up, as the backwash isn't 100%.

Jonathan (Hobbyist) on Friday 30 April, 2010
Product Rating:
Review:
great product..expensive for a 24 inch hayward pool filter and 4 cubic feet of aqua uv media..when you plumb these, put a valved blower input on the water in line.. you can then use a shop vac or leaf blower to churn the media..

Jake (Hobbyist) on Wednesday 06 May, 2009
Product Rating:
Review:
VERY happy with this filter. Easy to backwash and keeps my pond very clean and the water healthy. Very well made too, you can fell how solid it is when you turn the handle. I know this unit won't break and fall apart after a few years of use. I have the 6000 unit on a 3000 gallon pond.

Thomas L Miller (Hobbyist) on Tuesday 21 April, 2009
Product Rating:
Review:
I have two Ultima II bead filters. One 20,000 and one 10,000. I have never had to open them because of "clumping".
Maybe because both are fed by 3/4 hp. pumps. To make my job easier to backwash, I purchased a remote for each pump. When I want to switch from filter to backwash I just click the remote off, which cuts power to the pump. When I switch to backwash i click the remote on. Sure beats plugging in and out the electrical cord to both pumps. Following the manufacturers directions of backwashing, and rinsing at least three times my pond stays very clear. I can't see a need to purchase a blower for these filters. I can hear the beads churning inside when I do my cleaning.Furthermore, I cannot say enough about the support this manufacturer provides. Customer service is top notch in my book!

Nilesh (Hobbyist) on Saturday 30 August, 2008
Product Rating:
Review:
Not a good mechanical filter, only good for bio filtration. After months of heavy use during summer months, backwashing will not work as well. Uses bio media that looks similar to straws that are cut up in small pieces. This can be easily DIY'd with a sand filter. Expensive for what it does. Best to add a blower to churn the media during backwash

Joe Hatfield Jr (Hobbyist) on Thursday 28 August, 2008
Product Rating:
Review:
Have helped other owners service and clean this product. Tends to clump and backwash is weak at best.

jackson chen (Hobbyist) on Sunday 24 August, 2008
Product Rating:
Review:
I have two ultima bead filter, one is 4ooo and the other is 20,000. the 4000 goes from skimmer to pump to bead filter to T.T. The 20,000 one is from settlement tank to 1/2 hp pump to 20,000 bead filter to mattes to pond.Both filter works great, but when it comes to backwash, I have to open the control valves and manually to move the bead in order for the bead to backwash properly every three days.
I hear a bead filter with blower can do a better job in the backwash mode, will like to try one if I can find it.
Ultima is not a bad filter. It gives mech and bio in the same time.But if it has blower built in,it will do a better job.

Steve (Hobbyist) on Monday 18 August, 2008
Product Rating:
Review:
I have two of the Ultima II 6000 units running on my pond. Each has a separate Wave II pump. One has a DIY fluid bed filter on the same line. These are great filters. Super easy to clean, the backwash doesn't need a blower. These have provided me with years a excellent water and zero mechanical problems.

You can add a direct link to this review on your website by copying and pasting the the code to the right.
(A sample of what the link will look like is below: )

Read the Consumer Reviews about:
Ultima II
On PondProductReviews.com




More Bead & Sand Filters

Advantage Bead Filters
Advantage Bead Filters
(7) Reviews
Advantage Glass Polishing Filter
Advantage Glass Polishing Filter
(1) Reviews
Alpha ONE
Alpha ONE
(5) Reviews
Aqua Plus
Aqua Plus
(4) Reviews
AquaBead Bio-Filtration Systems
AquaBead Bio-Filtration Systems
(6) Reviews
Aquadyne Bead Filters
Aquadyne Bead Filters
(3) Reviews
Bio Wave Filters
Bio Wave Filters
(4) Reviews
Bio Wave Plus Filter
Bio Wave Plus Filter
(3) Reviews
Biotek
Biotek
(3) Reviews
Bubble Bead
Bubble Bead
(1) Reviews
Carefree Sand Filters
Carefree Sand Filters
(1) Reviews
Emperor Aquatics BioPro
Emperor Aquatics BioPro
(2) Reviews
Emperor Aquatics PSP Filters
Emperor Aquatics PSP Filters
(2) Reviews
Fluidart Challenger Filters
Fluidart Challenger Filters
(2) Reviews
Fluidart Pinnacle Filter
Fluidart Pinnacle Filter
(1) Reviews
FluidBead Filter
FluidBead Filter
(0) Reviews
Hydrabead Filter
Hydrabead Filter
(0) Reviews
Mashimizu
Mashimizu
(2) Reviews
Pentair Tarpon Sand Filters
Pentair Tarpon Sand Filters
(2) Reviews
PolyGeyser Bead Filter
PolyGeyser Bead Filter
(0) Reviews


Banner Ads

Sponsored Links
PondPumpSale.com
Pond pumps at discount prices.
Free shipping on most pumps.

pondpumpsale.com
JoesKoi.com
Pond Supply Bargain Superstore
Great prices. Free shipping.

JoesKoi.com

Sponsor Links